As mentioned earlier, Oregon offers many rent control policies, so be sure to research your local rental policies so you know what the right amount to charge the tenant is. If there is no agreement on the amount of rent, its value must correspond to the fair market value of the property. Oregon has specific language in landlord tenant laws that relate to pets that can cause harm and are kept on the premises. According to the O. R.S., section 90.405 grants the owner certain rights to terminate a rental agreement if such a pet is on the premises without the owner`s authorization. If a rental property changes ownership, the landlord is responsible for returning the deposit of all tenants. The landlord may choose (paragraph 90.30(2)(b) of the ORS): If the tenant breaks the lease for essentially the same reason (i.e. a pet that may cause bodily injury or property damage without permission) Within six months, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement in writing with at least 10 days` notice. The law states that if the tenant violates the lease and keeps a pet on the premises that may harm people or property, the landlord may provide written notice of the breach and that the lease ends on a date that ends at least 10 days after the notice is given, unless the tenant removes the animal from the premises in the notice before the specified termination date. If the animal is not removed by the specified date, the lease ends and the owner may be taken into possession in the manner provided for in §§ 105.105 to 105.168 of the O.R.S.
The state of Oregon is known to have an amazing economy in recent years. Thanks to this positive growth, this state is an ideal destination for tenants looking for rental housing. In this sense, homeowners in this area have an increased chance to rent their properties. In Oregon, pet clauses state that owners have the final say on whether or not pets are allowed in their building. However, federal laws require them to help tenants with service animals. Some landlords tend to charge extra fees to allow pets into their building. The deposit must be returned to the tenant within 31 days of the tenant`s move. If the landlord does not comply within the required time, the tenant can take legal action. In the event that a pet lives in your rental unit, there are significant restrictions regarding pets. The first consideration is to have a separate written agreement for pets. The written pet agreement must indicate the type, breed and name of each animal authorized on the premises.
The landlord has the legal right to impose a reasonable fine for pets on the premises without the landlord`s permission, and this language should be included in the rental agreement. If the unit is more than 15 years old, the landlord cannot increase rental rates by more than 7% per year. If the landlord wants to increase the rent, they must notify the tenant at least 30 days in advance. In the case of monthly tenancies, the landlord cannot increase the rent in the first year of tenancy. At the end of the first year, the landlord must send a written notice 90 days before the increase. Each landlord has the right to collect rent payments on time, require a deposit from the tenant and withhold a portion of it to cover unexpected damage to the property. If the tenant violates the lease in any way, landlords can pursue appropriate eviction proceedings. If the rent deposit for the last month is specified in the lease, the landlord must apply it to the rent owing for the last month of the lease if the landlord or tenant gives notice of termination (paragraph 90.30(9)(a) of the ORS). Landlords can legally charge higher rent to tenants who have pets, and Straub says the typical rent increase is $10 to $20 per month. In the past, landlords have often charged $200 to $300 in non-refundable pet fees, and many landlords still use leases that predate the changes in the law.
Leases can always go into detail about acceptable pet sizes, age, number, breeds and behavior (such as noise and aggression) and set penalties for unauthorized pets. (Slip into this cute kitten and it might taste you.) These courts can hear leases of up to $10,000. Note, however, that each area may have a different statute of limitations for these cases. And service animals that help tenants with disabilities are exempt from pet guidelines under federal housing regulations: “Examples include guide dogs for the visually impaired, hearing impaired dogs for people with hearing impairments, and emotional support animals for people with chronic mental illness. One of the first conditions that an owner must meet for his rental is the question of pets. Will they be allowed? If so, what types of pets? What breeds? While it is within a landlord`s right to refuse to admit pets, the federal Disability Act provides that an animal is permitted in a rental facility if it is a service animal. In fact, a landlord cannot discriminate during the application review process based on a number of factors, including the applicant`s disability. It may come as a surprise to some Oregon landlords, tenants, and even lawyers that pet fees haven`t been allowed under Oregon laws for the past five or six years. But confusion about the law remains, most likely, because Oregon`s revised statutes 90,302 don`t actually explain that pet fees are prohibited; The list of “landlord expenses for certain expenses” no longer includes non-refundable pet expenses. A lease in Oregon can be written or verbal.
It is recommended that you always use a written version of the agreement, as you will have access to the information in a physical format, which can be useful in the event of a dispute. In these cases, landlords must provide the tenant with a copy of the lease with the correct information as original. Oregon tenants have the right to live in a habitable unit that complies with local housing laws, request repairs to the property, and take alternative action if the landlord fails to provide such repairs within a reasonable time. Tenants must comply with the following state laws if they want to maintain a healthy lease period with their landlord: One thing that can determine the success of a tenancy is compliance with the state`s landlord-tenant laws. These laws provide all the resources you need to start your lease. On this page, we learn more about Oregon`s landlord-tenant law and how it should be followed at all times during tenancy. Read our complete guide to the deportation process and the laws of Oregon. Unfortunately, Oregon is considered one of the least landowner-friendly states in the United States.
Indeed, there are many rent control policies and protections for tenants that can impact the landlord. There are three types of rental fees: daily fees, weekly fees, and one-time fixed fees. The owner can choose the fees best suited to his needs. Landlord-tenant laws allow the tenant to request the termination of the lease once it ends. However, you must comply with the following notice periods: All laws for landlords and tenants in Oregon can be found in the laws of Oregon (Chapter 90). However, we will look at the general guidelines that landlords and tenants must follow from the beginning. It is important to note that a landlord can choose a specific due date for rent; If not specified in the document, the rent due date is at the beginning of each month.